Planning Extension

This page is archived.

Home


 

Rathlin was granted Planning Permission for exploratory work at Crawberry Hill for 2 years, rather than the usual 3 years, due to the sensitive nature of the site.  This runs out on 5th November 2014.

However Rathlin have failed to complete their 3 tests, and have applied for another 2 years.

Hundreds of people have objected to this extension, which goes to:

Planning Committee Meeting

Thursday 2nd October 2014 – 2pm

County Hall, Cross Street, Beverley  HU17 9BA

Please attend

if you can to show the strength of opposition.  Members of the public have a right to attend the meeting.

Meet 1pm to demonstrate beforehand.  Bring banners, but note you won’t be allowed to take placards/poles etc. into the meeting.

 

331 objections – yet recommended for Approval

The Planning officers report recommends Approval- despite the large number of objections.  The report is in this document, pages 18-56:

Planning Committee Agenda 2 Oct 2014

(downloaded from the Planning Committee page of the ERYC website)

 

What You Can Do Now

You are encouraged to contact councillors now, prior to the meeting, to impress upon them the importance of this decision, and the strength of feeling around this case to persuade them to decline the application.

You may wish to contact members of the planning committee (listed in the tables below), or your own councillors (Councillor Finder), or both.

In case it is of assistance, one resident has written:

With reference to the application by Rathlin Energy to continue testing for a further 24 months I understand that the council officers recommend approval.

This goes against the material considerations of the 331 objectors who are local voting residents.

I find it incomprehensible that you would wish the industrialisation of the Wolds for the financial gain of a few.

The risk of water contamination is sufficient reason in itself to refuse the application plus the documented breaches of planning regulations by Rathlin .

Can they be trusted to adhere to the next set of conditions- I doubt it , if they don’t who pays for the clean up?

If they are so confident they could lodge a £5bn bond at the council to pay for remediation when the wells leak (as they all do eventually,) Rathlin have leases for 50 yrs.

I trust that at the planning meeting on 2nd October you will consider the water, the residents, the County of East Riding, the Wolds and not oil company’ profits.

You may also wish to draw attention to the important points raised in the Friends of the Earth objection:

FoE Objection Comment

FoE objection letter – click to open as a pdf

The original decision was incorrect as the development would compromise the protection of the Wolds area of High Landscape Value… it contravened the following policies…

 

Members of the Planning Committee 2nd October 2014

Councillor Party Ward e-mail Phone Within Rathlin license area?
Phyllis Pollard (Chair) Con Beverley rural pollard@eastriding.gov.uk 01430 422 202 Yes
Kay West (Vice chair) Con Pocklington Provincial kaywestbb@hotmail.com 01759 305 238 No
Charlie Bayram Con Howden cbayram@cbayram.karoo.co.uk 01430 422 373 No
Richard Burton Con Bridlington Central and Old Town richardrockville@aol.com 01262 850 830 No
Chad Chadwick Con Bridlington South chad61@tesco.net 01262 677 877 No
Margaret Chapman MBE Con East Wolds and Coastal margaret173@btinternet.com 01262 420 877 Only just
Tony Galbraith Con Dale tony@galbraith1.karoo.co.uk 01482 668 381 Yes
Bryan Pearson Con St Mary’s ( Beverley) councillor.pearson@eastriding.gov.uk 01482 861 172 Yes
Peter Turner Con Mid Holderness peter@peterturner.karoo.co.uk 01964 622 978 Yes
John Whittle Ind North Holderness jwhittle@tiscali.co.uk 01964 532 301 Yes
Malcolm Boatman Lab Goole South councillor.boatman@eastriding.gov.uk No
Michael Whitehead Other* Willerby and Kirk Ella councillor.whitehead@eastriding.gov.uk Yes

*M.Whitehead elected as a Conservative.

 

Local councillors for Crawberry Hill

Phyllis Pollard (Chair) Con Beverley rural councillor.pollard@eastriding.gov.uk 01430 422 202 Yes
Stephen Parnaby OBECouncil Leader Con Beverley rural councillor.parnaby@eastriding.gov.uk 01482 844 425 Yes
Bradley Birmingham Con Beverley rural councillor.birmingham@eastriding.gov.uk 07780 507 739 Yes